4 Legislative Powers of the President of India

The President of India occupies the highest office in the Country. Legislative Powers of the President of India are as follows

Legislative Powers of the President

The President is an integral part of the Parliament which consists of the President, the Lok Sabha, and the Rajya Sabha. His legislative powers are:

(i) The first session of the Parliament is addressed by the President.
(ii) He has the power to summon and prorogue the House.
(iii) He can dissolve the Lok Sabha and order fresh elections.
(iv) He can address a joint session of the Parliament or each one of the House separately.


The President and the Vice President

The President is the head of the Indian Union and is the supreme commander of the defense forces of India. The President is elected indirectly by the members of the Electoral College. Read more

The High Courts and Subordinate Courts

The Constitution of India has provided for a High Court for each state. However, there may be one High Court for two states or union territories. This depends on the area and the population of the state or union territory. There are 21 High Courts in India. Delhi is the only union territory that has a High Court of its own. Read more

Discover more from Home of learning

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top