How are members of the Rajya Sabha elected?

Answer: The representatives of each State in the Rajya Sabha are elected by the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of each State. This is done in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote. The representatives of the Union Territories shall be chosen in such manner as Parliament may prescribe. The three representatives from Delhi are elected by the members of the Legislative Assembly. The Rajya Sabha at present consists of 245 members, of whom 12 were nominated by the President.


The Union Legislature

The Union Parliament consists of the President and two houses—The House of People commonly known as the Lok Sabha and the Council of States known as the Rajya Sabha. The Parliament is a body of people’s representatives who have the supreme power and authority of governance in a democratic country. Read more

Discover more from Home of learning

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top