What is the schedule for Parliamentary sessions?

The sessions of each House of Parliament are summoned by the President. This is subject to the condition that six months shall not intervene between the two sessions. In other words, Parliament should hold at least two sessions in a year. Normally, three sessions are held in a year:

  1. Budget Session (February – May)
  2. Monsoon Session (July – September), and
  3. Winter Session (November – December).

The President is empowered to prorogue Parliament or any of its Houses. He may dissolve the Lok Sabha.


The Union Legislature

The Union Parliament consists of the President and two houses—The House of People commonly known as the Lok Sabha and the Council of States known as the Rajya Sabha. The Parliament is a body of people’s representatives who have the supreme power and authority of governance in a democratic country. Read more

Discover more from Home of learning

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top