Council of Ministers

Council of Ministers

The Council of Ministers is appointed by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister. According to the conventions, only the members of the Parliament are appointed as Ministers. In case a person who is not a member of the Parliament has been appointed as a minister, he must be elected or nominated to the Parliament within six months from the date of his appointment.

There are three circles of ministers. These are

Cabinet Ministers

They are the most important body of ministers in the Council of Ministers. All important portfolios such as defense, finance, and external affairs form the Cabinet Ministers. The Cabinet Ministers formulate the policies and programs of the government.

Ministers of State

The state ministers may or may not have any portfolios. It is up to the Prime Minister if he wants or does not want to consult them. Generally, they do not participate in the meetings of the Cabinet but may be invited to do so.

Deputy Ministers

The Deputy Ministers are the junior ministers who help the Cabinet and the Council of Ministers in their work. They do not participate in the Cabinet discussions. The Council of Ministers comprises the Prime Minister and other ministers appointed by the President.

You May Read

The High Courts and Subordinate Courts

The Constitution of India has provided for a High Court for each state. However, there may be one High Court for two states or union territories. This depends on the area and the population of the state or union territory. There are 21 High Courts in India. Delhi is the only union territory that has a High Court of its own. Read more

The Supreme Court

The Supreme Court is the head of the Indian judiciary and supervises the functions of the lower courts. A single civil and criminal system of laws operates all over the country. By the way of appeal, cases from the High Court may be taken to the Supreme Court. Read more

The Union Legislature

The Union Parliament consists of the President and two houses—The House of People commonly known as the Lok Sabha and the Council of States known as the Rajya Sabha. The Parliament is a body of people’s representatives who have the supreme power and authority of governance in a democratic country. Read more

Discover more from Home of learning

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top