Mention two Legislative powers of the Union Parliament


  1. The Union Parliament has exclusive power of making laws on the Union list. The Union list comprises 97 subjects.
  2. The Union Parliament has residuary power. ‘Residuary power’ means the subject is not mentioned under any list in the constitution.


The Union Legislature

The Union Parliament consists of the President and two houses—The House of People commonly known as the Lok Sabha and the Council of States known as the Rajya Sabha. The Parliament is a body of people’s representatives who have the supreme power and authority of governance in a democratic country. Read more

Discover more from Home of learning

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top