Mention four special powers of the Rajya Sabha

The Upper House of the Parliament is known as the Rajya Sabha. It represents the states in India. The Rajya Sabha is a permanent House as it cannot be dissolved. Members of the Rajya Sabha are elected for a period of six years and one-third of the total members retire after every six years. Four special powers of the Rajya Sabha are:

Special powers of the Rajya Sabha

(i) The proclamation of emergency by the President is passed by the Rajya Sabha if the Lok Sabha is not in session or has been dissolved.

(ii) The Rajya Sabha enjoys equal powers with the Lok Sabha in matters like amendment of the constitution, election and impeachment of the President, Vice President and Judges of the Supreme Court and High Court.

(iii) No laws on any subjects of the State list can be made by the Lok Sabha without a 2/3rd majority of the Rajya Sabha.

(iv) The approval of Rajya Sabha is necessary in case of creating one or more all India services common to the Union as well as the States.


The Union Legislature

The Union Parliament consists of the President and two houses—The House of People commonly known as the Lok Sabha and the Council of States known as the Rajya Sabha. The Parliament is a body of people’s representatives who have the supreme power and authority of governance in a democratic country. Read more

The President and the Vice President

The President is the head of the Indian Union and is the supreme commander of the defence forces of India. The President is elected indirectly by the members of the Electoral College. Read more

The Supreme Court

The Supreme Court is the head of the Indian judiciary and supervises the functions of the lower courts. A single civil and criminal system of laws operates all over the country. By the way of appeal, cases from the High Court may be taken to the Supreme Court. Read more

Discover more from Home of learning

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top