What are the Types of Faults?

Faults result in the formation of block mountains. There are three main types of faults. They are

Types of Faults

Normal faults: Normal fault is a simple fault where the blocks of the rocks move up or down. In a normal fault, a piece of land may slide down along the fault plane.

Reverse faults: Because of compressional forces acting from opposite directions, a block of rock is forced up and over other rock against the slope of the fault plane.

Tear faults: When the blocks on either side of the fault are displaced horizontally or sideways, tear faults take place. Tear faults generally occur during earthquakes.

Also, Read Folding and Faulting

Discover more from Home of learning

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top