What did the Declaration on the Elimination of all Forms of Racial Discrimination stand for?

The Declaration on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination was adopted by the General Assembly in 1963 to combat racism and Apartheid in the world with special emphasis in South Africa. It declared that discrimination between human beings on grounds of race, colour, ethnic origin was an offense to human dignity, a denial of Charter principles, a violation of the right proclaimed in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and obstruction in the development of peaceful relations among people.


Universal Declaration of Human Rights

Human rights refer to freedoms and rights which should be available to all human beings irrespective of their caste, class, gender, and religion. These rights include the right to life, the right to freedom of speech and expression, the right to equality, the right to education, etc. Read more

The High Courts and Subordinate Courts

The Constitution of India has provided for a High Court for each state. However, there may be one High Court for two states or union territories. This depends on the area and the population of the state or union territory. There are 21 High Courts in India. Delhi is the only union territory that has a High Court of its own. Read more

Discover more from Home of learning

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top