Who elects the Members of the Rajya Sabha?


The Members of the Rajya Sabha are indirectly elected by the elected members of State Legislative Assemblies and Union territories according to the system of proportional representation by the means of Single transferable vote system.


The Union Legislature

The Union Parliament consists of the President and two houses—The House of People commonly known as the Lok Sabha and the Council of States known as the Rajya Sabha. The Parliament is a body of people’s representatives who have the supreme power and authority of governance in a democratic country. Read more

Discover more from Home of learning

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top