Harappan cities

 In 1921, Dayaram Sahni discovered Harappa and R. D. Banerjee discovered Mohenjodaro. Other cities which were discovered alongside Harappa and Mohenjo-Daro were Lothal, Dholavira and Surkotada (present Gujarat), Kalibangan (present Rajasthan), and Chanhudaro (present Pakistan). The civilization encompassing these cities came to be known as the Indus Valley Civilization as it developed on the banks of River Indus and its tributaries. The chief cities of the Harappan Civilization are

Chief Cities of the Harappan Civilization

The entire area of the Harappan civilization is triangular in shape covering an area of about 1, 299, 600 sq. km, extending from Sutkagendor in Baluchistan in the west to Alamgirpur, in Ganga Yamuna Doab, and from Manda in Jammu in the north to Bhagatrav in Narmada estuary in the south

Also, Read

The Harappan Civilisaion

The Harappan Civilization is called so because the civilization was first unearthed at Harappa in the province of West Punjab in Pakistan. In 1862, Sir Alexander Cunningham noticed the traits of the cities. Read more

The Mauryan Empire

The Mauryan Empire is regarded as the first and one of the greatest empires in India. It is called an empire because it annexed and brought several smaller states under its control. Read more

The Mughal Empire

The weakness of the Delhi Sultanate and political disunity thereafter led to the establishment of Mughal rule in India. The Mughal Empire was founded by Babur after he defeated Ibrahim Lodi in the First Battle of Panipat in 1526. Read more

The Medieval India -The Delhi Sultanate

The empire which ruled North India from AD 1206 to AD 1526 was known as the Delhi Sultanate because Delhi was their capital (the seat of their empire) and the kings were known as Sultans. Read more

Discover more from Home of learning

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top