Functions of the Security Council

Security Council is an executive body of the United Nations. It consists of 15 members. It has five permanent members—China, France, Russia, Britain and the United States of America. Ten other non-permanent members consist of 5 members from the Afro-Asian countries, 2 members from the Latin American countries, 2 members from the West European countries and 1 member from the East European countries.

Functions of the Security Council

Each member has one vote. The decision in the Security Council is taken after at least nine members vote in its favour including the permanent members. All five permanent members have veto power. If any one of the five permanent nations casts a negative vote on a decision, the decision does not pass.

Functions of the Security Council

The Main functions of the Security Council are as follows:

  1. To maintain international peace and security,
  2. To investigate any dispute or situation which might lead to international tension or conflicts To establish plans for the establishment of a system to regulate armaments,
  3. To take military action against an aggressor,
  4. To recommend the admission of new members,
  5. To recommend the appointment of the Secretary-General and with the Assembly elect the Judges of the International Court of Justice.

Also, Read

Finished Reading Functions of the Security Council? We have more content for you…

Functions of the General Assembly

United Nations General Assembly

United Nations General Assembly is the main organ of the UN, and all members of the United Nations are members of the General Assembly. Each country has one vote. The regular session of the General Assembly begins each year on the third Tuesday of September and continues up till the third week of December. A …

Read More »



The term ‘Renaissance’ literally means rebirth or revival. It was a complex transitional movement which took place in Europe between the 14th and 17th centuries. Read more

Vedic period

The Vedic Period

The age of history in which the Vedas were composed in the Indian subcontinent is known as the Vedic Age. The Vedas were composed by the Aryans. There are four Vedas—the Rigveda, Samaveda, Yajurveda and Arthaveda. Read more

Industrial Revolution

Modern age in Europe – Industrial Revolution

The Industrial Revolution is the name given to the series of changes which brought about a transition from production by hand to production. Read more

Finished Reading Functions of the Security Council?

Want to Improve your English Grammar? – Improve now

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top