How are the other Judges of the High Court appointed?

The High Court consists of a Chief Justice of India and other judges which are appointed by the President of the country. The President may also appoint additional judges for a temporary period not exceeding two years. He may also appoint an acting judge when a judge of the High Court is temporarily absent or is unable to perform his duties.

The other Judges of the High Court are appointed by the President of India after the consultation with the Chief Justice of High Court and the Governor of the State concerned.

Service conditions of the judges of the High Court ensure the independent authority and the working of the Constitution.


The High Courts and Subordinate Courts

The Constitution of India has provided for a High Court for each state. However, there may be one High Court for two states or union territories. This depends on the area and the population of the state or a union territory. There are 21 High Courts in India. Delhi is the only union territory which has a High Court of its own. Read more

Universal Declaration of Human Rights

Human rights refer to freedoms and rights which should be available to all human beings irrespective of their caste, class, gender and religion. These rights include the right to life, the right to freedom of speech and expression, the right to equality, the right to education etc. Read more

Discover more from Home of learning

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top