What are meant by Lok Adalats?

Lok Adalats are presided over by judicial officers and other persons, who possess such qualifications as may be prescribed by the State. They make an endeavour to bring compromise or agreement between the parties. On October 6, 1985, for the first time the Lok Adalats were held in Delhi. Justice P. N. Bhagwati inaugurated the Adalats.

On the first day, five Lok Adalats were held. On this day 116 persons received compensation to the tune of Rs. 35 lakhs. These people had been contesting their motor accident claims since 1978-79. Delhi Transport Corporation immediately made payment to the aggrieved parties. The Legal Services Authorities Act, 1987 provides that State or district authorities will organize Lok Adalats from time to time.

All decisions of the Lok Adalats are now deemed to be decrees of a Civil Court and shall be binding on the parties
to the dispute. Up to December 31, 1997, more than seventeen thousand Lok Adalats had been held in different parts of the country. They heard and settled about 68.86 lakh cases. In more than three lakh motor vehicles accident cases, compensation amounting to more than a thousand crore rupees was awarded.


The High Courts and Subordinate Courts

The Constitution of India has provided for a High Court for each state. However, there may be one High Court for two states or union territories. This depends on the area and the population of the state or a union territory. There are 21 High Courts in India. Delhi is the only union territory which has a High Court of its own. Read more

Universal Declaration of Human Rights

Human rights refer to freedoms and rights which should be available to all human beings irrespective of their caste, class, gender and religion. These rights include the right to life, the right to freedom of speech and expression, the right to equality, the right to education etc. Read more

Discover more from Home of learning

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top