What was the International Convention of Human Rights?

On 16th December 1966, the General Assembly adopted and opened for signatures, ratification, and the accession of three International Covenants on Human Rights:

(i) International Convention on Civil and Political Rights.

(ii) International Convention on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights.

(iii) The optional protocol to the International Convention on Civil and Political Rights. Based on the Universal Declaration of Human Rights the covenants were submitted to UN members for ratification after being approved by General Assembly in 1976. They were ratified by 35 States and came into effect in 1976. The second protocol came into force in 1991. Together they constituted the International Bill of Human Rights. Both the covenants have a force of law and are binding on ratifying countries.


Universal Declaration of Human Rights

Human rights refer to freedoms and rights which should be available to all human beings irrespective of their caste, class, gender, and religion. These rights include the right to life, the right to freedom of speech and expression, the right to equality, the right to education, etc. Read more

The High Courts and Subordinate Courts

The Constitution of India has provided for a High Court for each state. However, there may be one High Court for two states or union territories. This depends on the area and the population of the state or union territory. There are 21 High Courts in India. Delhi is the only union territory that has a High Court of its own. Read more

Discover more from Home of learning

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top