Which House is more powerful? Why?

Lok Sabha is more powerful than Rajya Sabha because in a democracy the House, which is composed of elected representatives of the people, is given more power by the constitution.

Lok Sabha

The Lok Sabha is known as the House of People as its members are directly elected by the people of India.


  • The members of the Lok Sabha are elected for a period of five years. However, it can be dissolved before completing its term by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister and his cabinet.
  • The term of the Lok Sabha can be extended for a year during an emergency.


  • The maximum strength of the Lok Sabha is 552 members.
  • According to the Constitution, not more than 530 members can represent the states and not more than 20 members can represent the union territories.
  • The president may appoint two members of the Anglo Indian community.
  • Seats in the Lok Sabha are allotted to the states on the basis of their population. For example, Uttar Pradesh being the most populous state in India sends 80 members to the Lok Sabha, while Sikkim and Goa sends one and two members, respectively.


  • He should be a citizen of India and should not be less than 25 years of age.
  • His name should be in the electoral rolls in some parts of the country.
  • He should not be under debt and should be able to meet his/her financial requirements.
  • He should not hold any office of profit under the government.
  • He should not be a proclaimed criminal and should be of sound mind.

Disqualification of Membership

A Member of Parliament can be disqualified under the following circumstances:

  • If he holds any office of profit under the central or state government.
  • If any court declares him to be of unsound mind.
  • If he is an insolvent or has not been able to pay his debts.
  • If it is found that he is not a citizen of India or has willingly acquired citizenship of any foreign state.
  • If he is disqualified by law made by the Parliament.


The Union Legislature

The Union Parliament consists of the President and two houses—The House of People commonly known as the Lok Sabha and the Council of States known as the Rajya Sabha. The Parliament is a body of people’s representatives who have the supreme power and authority of governance in a democratic country. Read more

Discover more from Home of learning

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top